South Africa

Africa is on the move: the continent has some of the fastest-expanding economies in the world with a rapidly growing young population. In addition to being Africa’s second largest economy, South Africa has a vibrant private sector, one of the world’s most progressive constitutions, and cutting-edge technology and innovation. A political leadership change has brought significant stability and renewed focus on economic growth. While there was political commitment to education prior to the new administration – in 2017, education accounted for 6.1 per cent of GDP and 16 per cent of government expenditure – the current President is now creating public-private partnerships to transform schools. In 2018, for example, he launched the Sanitation Appropriate For Education (SAFE) initiative, which partners with business to provide safe toilets and improved water facilities at 4,000 schools. This is a step in the right direction: if they are educated, South Africa’s young people can lift their families out of poverty and contribute to economic growth.
Schools for Africa (SFA) is a global initiative which aims to achieve quality education across sub-Saharan Africa, ensuring that all children, including the most remote and marginalized children, are learning and gaining the skills to succeed in life and work.

 

The challenges

South Africa has a number of progressive education policies and practices – school is compulsory for children between the ages of 7 and 15; school is free for indigent learners. At the same time, however, very real challenges undermine the quality of learning for all South Africa’s children:

Low completion rates – many students experience a broken journey through school, interrupted by periods of irregular attendance, absenteeism, dropouts, limited teacher capacity, teenage pregnancy and schoolrelated
violence and abuse

A potential second “lost generation” – the country has a group of post-apartheid young people, aged 18 to 24, who are not in the education system, not in training and not employed

Schools lack significant infrastructure – 27 per cent do not have running water; 79 per cent are without libraries; and 78 per cent do not have computers

Low teacher quality leads to poor student performance – in 2011, the Annual National Assessment tested 6 million students in the foundation phase (grades 1 to 3) and intermediate

What we have achieved so far

  • The Safe and Caring Child-Friendly Schools program improved infrastructure for 800 disadvantaged schools.
  • Sports activities in school life were upgraded.
  • In 2014, a virtual learning platform for teachers and students was launched from which 4,500 teachers and more than 35,000 students have benefited since its launch.
  • More than 30,000 girls and boys were able to use new sports fields in 27 schools in townships.
  • More than 75 percent of five-year-old children today now the opportunity to successfully prepare for starting their primary school with one year of preschool.
  • Thanks to the “Techno Girls” program, more than 15,000 girls have made a career since 2005, above all in the fields of technology and engineering.

What is planned for the future

  • Development of new and cost-effective learning and teaching materials.
  • Strengthening parent responsibility for their school-age children.
  • Training of 60,000 teachers, 73 percent of them female, to improve their pedagogical skills for basic computing.
  • Training of 60,000 teachers, of which 60 percent are female, on violence prevention and conflict management.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Menu

Südafrika

Seit dem Ende der Apartheid 1994 machte das Land große Fortschritte. Der Anteil der Ausgaben für Bildung  lag 2012 bei 20 Prozent des Gesamthaushalts. Für Kinder im Alter zwischen sieben und 15 Jahren ist die Grundschule verpflichtend, viele Grundschulen haben Schulgebühren abgeschafft.

Südafrika ist nicht nur die zweitgrößte Volkswirtschaft Afrikas, sondern verfügt auch über einen lebhaften Privatsektor, eine der fortschrittlichsten Verfassungen der Welt, sowie modernste Technologie und Innovation. Ein politischer Führungswechsel hat erhebliche Stabilität gebracht und das Wirtschaftswachstum erneut in den Mittelpunkt gerückt. Während es vor der neuen Verwaltung ein politisches Engagement für Bildung gab – im Jahr 2017 entfielen auf Bildung 6,1 Prozent des BIP und 16 Prozent der Staatsausgaben -, geht der derzeitige Präsident öffentlich-private Partnerschaften ein, um Schulen umzugestalten. Beispielsweise startete er 2018 zusammen mit der Wirtschaft die Initiative „Sanitation Appropriate For Education“ (SAFE), um Toiletten und verbesserte Wasserversorgung an 4.000 Schulen bereitzustellen. Dies ist ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung. Schulen für Afrika ist eine durch Peter Krämer angestoßene, globale Initiative, die auf eine qualitativ hochwertige Bildung in ganz Afrika südlich der Sahara abzielt und sicherstellt, dass alle Kinder, einschließlich jener in entlegenen Gebieten, die Fähigkeiten erwerben, um im Leben und beruflich erfolgreich zu sein.

Die Herausforderungen

In Südafrika gibt es eine Reihe fortschrittlicher Bildungsstrategien und -praktiken. Die Schule ist für Kinder im Alter zwischen 7 und 15 Jahren obligatorisch und kostenlos für bedürftige Lernende. Gleichzeitig beeinträchtigen jedoch sehr reale Herausforderungen die Lernqualität aller südafrikanischen Kinder:

Niedrige Abschlussquoten – Unregelmäßige Anwesenheitszeiten, Fehlzeiten, Schulabbrüchen, begrenzten Lehrerkapazitäten, Schwangerschaften im Teenageralter und Gewalt und Missbrauch während der Schulzeit verhindern nachhaltiges Lernen

Eine potenzielle zweite „verlorene Generation“ – im Land gibt es eine Gruppe von Jugendlichen im Alter von 18 bis 24 Jahren, die weder im Bildungssystem noch in einer Ausbildung integriert sind

Schulen haben keine ausreichende Infrastruktur – 27 Prozent haben kein fließendes Wasser; 79 Prozent sind ohne Bibliotheken; und 78 Prozent haben keine Computer

Geringe Lehrerqualität führt zu schlechten Schülerleistungen – 2011 wurden im Rahmen des jährlichen National Assessment 6 Millionen Schüler in der Gründungsphase (Klassen 1 bis 3) und Mittelstufe getestet

Was wir bis heute erreicht haben

  • Durch das Programm “Safe and Caring Child-Friendly Schools” verbesserte sich die Infrastruktur für 800 benachteiligte Schulen.
  • Sportaktivitäten im Schulalltag wurden aufgewertet.
  • 2014 wurde eine virtuelle Lern-Plattform für Lehrer und Schüler ins Leben gerufen, von der seit Einführung 4.500 Lehrer und über 35.000 Schüler profitiert haben.
  • Über 30.000 Mädchen und Jungen konnten in 27 Schulen in Townships neue Sportplätze nutzen.
  • Mehr als 75 Prozent der Fünfjährigen haben heute die Möglichkeit, mit einem Jahr Vorschule den Start in die Grundschule erfolgreich vorzubereiten.
  • Mehr als 15.000 Mädchen haben seit 2005 dank des Programms “Techno Girls” vor allem in den Berufsfeldern Technologie und Ingenieurwesen Karriere gemacht.

Was für die Zukunft geplant ist

  • Entwicklung von neuen und kosteneffektiven Lern- und Lehrmaterialien.
  • Stärkung der Elternverantwortung für ihre schulpflichtigen Kinder.
  • Training von 60.000 Lehrkräften, davon 73 Prozent weiblich, zur Verbesserung ihrer pädagogischen Fähigkeiten für den Basisbereich Rechnen.
  • Training von 60.000 Lehrkräften, davon 60 Prozent weiblich, zum Thema Gewaltprävention und Konfliktmanagement.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Menü