Chad

Africa is on the move: the continent has some of the fastest-expanding economies in the world with a rapidly growing young population. Chad’s newly ratified 2017–2021 National Development Plan positions the country to achieve progress and economic growth. Children and adolescents have enormous skills, capacity and potential to transform their families, communities and even countries, contributing to regional and even continent-wide outcomes. As part of the plan, education partners convened to produce a sector-wide agreement – the Plan Intérimaire de l’Éducation du Tchad (PIET, 2018–2020) to address education challenges. The country also created a designated fund to support alphabetization and non-formal education. The World Bank, Global Partnership for Education and many other partners have made investment commitments toward Chad’s development. As a result, progress is happening: primary school gross enrolment generally increased over the past years, from 0.5 million in 2014 to 2.2 Million in 2016.

With the right government policies, investments and strong technical support, together we can ensure that Chad’s children and adolescents contribute to a national vision. Schools for Africa (SFA) is a global initiative which aims to achieve quality education across sub-Saharan Africa, ensuring that all children, including the most remote and marginalized children, are learning and gaining the skills to succeed in life and work. SFA convenes businesses, governments and individuals and has a proven track record in partnering with the private sector to achieve education results for children.

The challenges

Despite some primary school improvements, Chad faces significant obstacles that threaten education outcomes and progress toward the Sustainable Development Goals. The following challenges must be addressed:

  • Primary school enrollment and attendance are inadequate – one out of five children (20 per cent of the population) does not go to primary school, and only one in three children complete primary education and continue into secondary. Distance from Schools and school fees keep children from pursuing their education;
  • Quality of primary schools – existing primary schools are not particularly compelling – many lack infrastructure and are overcrowded and understaffed;
    Quality of teaching – only 30 per cent of teachers are qualified. Over two thirds of primary school teachers are community teachers, who are meant to be paid through government grants that are frequently delayed
    for years; when teachers aren’t compensated, there is absenteeism and departure;
  • Data availability – children are not registered at birth (only 12 per cent were registered in 2015), and insufficient data on and monitoring of highly vulnerable groups – children with disabilities and girls – makes it very difficult to appropriately budget for and meet the needs of these populations;
  • Child protection and abuse – children experience high levels of abuse and violence: in 2015, 77 per cent of children said they experienced physical violence at home;
  • Learning for girls – nearly 80 per cent of girls aged 15 years and above are illiterate. Only one in ten girls complete basic education;
  • Overburdened education facilities – the country faces overlapping crises, due to instability, violence, insecurity and economic recession. Chad is home to over 400,000 refugees from Sudan, CAR and Nigeria and approximately 71,000 Chadian returnees from CAR; this situation stresses both the education and health systems. In addition, over 100,000 Chadians are internally displaced; more than half of this population comprises school-aged children between 3 and
    17 years, who experience disrupted learning during periods of mobility.

Our response in Chad

The Peter Krämer Foundation has worked in Chad since 2004. In the five years from 2013 to 2018, our work affected more than 1 million children in Chad. We built 2,000 classrooms, created sanitation facilities, and helped enrol 68,000 out-of-school children. To promote secondary education, the Peter Krämer Foundation and UNICEF are developing free learning courses for older students.

In the 2017–2018 school year, 1,342 community teachers were trained, including 238 women. 1,117 teachers (330 women) were trained in psychosocial support, peace education, social cohesion, and how to manage child-friendly schools in crisis situations. The Peter Krämer Foundation and UNICEF are also facilitating teacher subsidies through mobile phone technology.

Menu

Tschad

Schulen für Afrika (SFA) ist eine globale, privat-initiierte Initiative, mit dem Ziel afrikanischen Kindern südlich der Sahara eine qualitativ hochwertige Ausbildung zu gewährleisten. Tschads Nationaler Entwicklungsplan 2017–2021 fokussiert sich auf das wirtschaftliche Wachstum des Landes. Wohlwissend, dass Kinder und Jugendliche enorme Fähigkeiten und Kapazitäten besitzen ihre Familien und Gemeinschaften zu transformieren, wurde als Teil des Plans der „Plan Intérimaire de l’Éducation du Tchad (PIET, 2018–2020)“ zur Bewältigung der Herausforderungen im Bildungsbereich ins Leben gerufen. Zusätzlich schuf das Land einen speziellen Bildungs-Fonds zur Förderung von Alphabetisierung und nicht-formaler Bildung. Die Welt Bank, Global Partnership for Education und viele andere internationale Partner verpflichteten sich gegenüber Tschads zu Investitionen im Bildungsbereich.

Infolgedessen erhöhte sich die Bruttoeinschreibungen in Grundschulen in den letzten Jahren von 0,5 Millionen im Jahr 2014 auf 2,2 Millionen im Jahr 2016.

Die Herausforderungen

Trotz einiger Verbesserungen in der Grundschulbildung steht Tschad vor erheblichen Hindernissen, die die gesetzten Bildungsziele bedrohen. Folgenden Herausforderungen müssen angegangen werden:

  • Unzureichende Einschulungszahlen in der Grundschule – jedes fünfte Kind (20 Prozent der Bevölkerung) geht nicht zur Grundschule und nur eines von drei Kindern schließt die Grundschule ab, um zur Sekundarstufe zu gehen. Lange Schulwege sowie Schulgebühren sind dabei die größten Hindernisse;
  • Qualität der Grundschulen – die bestehenden Grundschulen sind von mangelhafter Infrastruktur, überfüllt und unterbesetzt;
    Unterrichtsqualität – nur 30 Prozent der Lehrkräfte sind qualifiziert. Über 2/3 der Grundschullehrer werden staatlich vergütet, dies jedoch oftmals mit großer Verzögerung; durch die unzuverlässige Entlohnung kommt es regelmäßig zu Abwesenheit oder Abreise der Lehrkraft;
  • Datenbanken – Kinder werden bei der Geburt nicht automatisch registriert (nur 12 Prozent wurden im Jahr 2015 registriert). Zudem gibt es unzureichende Daten von besonders gefährdeten Personengruppen – Kindern mit Behinderungen und Mädchen. Dies erschwert die angemessene Budgetierung und Unterstützung dieser Bevölkerung;
  • Kinderschutz und Missbrauch – Kinder erfahren schon in frühen Jahren ein hohes Maß an Missbrauch und Gewalt: im Jahr 2015 gaben 77 Prozent der befragten Kinder an, zuhause körperliche Gewalt erlebt zu haben;
  • Lernen für Mädchen – fast 80 Prozent der Mädchen im Alter 15 Jahre und älter sind Analphabeten. Nur eines von zehn Mädchen schließt die Grundausbildung ab;
  • Überlastung der Bildungseinrichtungen – dem Land drohen überlappende Krisen aufgrund von Instabilität, Gewalt, Unsicherheit und wirtschaftliche Rezession. In Tschad leben über 400.000 Flüchtlinge aus dem Sudan, der Zentralafrikanischen Republik, Nigeria und rund 71.000 tschadische Rückkehrer aus der Zentralafrikanische Republik. Diese Situation bedroht sowohl das Bildungs- als auch das Gesundheitssysteme. Darüber hinaus sind über 100.000 Einheimische inländisch vertrieben; mehr als die Hälfte dieser Bevölkerung umfasst schulpflichtige Kinder zwischen 3 und 17 Jahren.

 

Unser Ansatz

Die Peter Krämer Stiftung ist seit 2004 im Tschad tätig. In den fünf Jahren von 2013 bis 2018 erreichte unsere Arbeit mehr als 1 Million Kinder im Tschad. Wir haben 2.000 Klassenzimmer gebaut, sanitäre Einrichtungen geschaffen und 68.000 außerschulische Kinder integriert.

Zur Förderung des Sekundarbereichs entwickeln die Peter Krämer-Stiftung und UNICEF kostenlose Lernkurse für ältere Schüler. Im Schuljahr 2017–2018 wurden 1.342 Gemeindelehrer ausgebildet, darunter 238 Frauen. 1.117 Lehrer (davon 330 Frauen) wurden in psychosozialer Unterstützung, Friedenserziehung, sozialem Zusammenhalt und der Verwaltung kinderfreundlicher Schulen in Krisensituationen geschult. Die Peter Krämer-Stiftung und UNICEF ermöglichen ebenfalls Lehrersubventionen durch Mobiltelefontechnologie.

Menü